The Walk

Remember several months ago I posted about getting back into the studio?  Well, I did for a few weeks and it was glorious.  Then Monkey got sick.  Really sick.  (I should write a post about that).  And he ended up dehydrated.  The kind of dehydrated that lands a person in the hospital.  So we were in the hospital for three days and then we got home and then I had to sort of put my life back in order and think about work which I’d missed for over a week – and trust me, teaching 2nd graders, missing more than a week of work isn’t grand – and getting back to the studio came to an end.  I just lost the motivation.  I had other things to do.

Sigh.

This being-a-mom-to-two isn’t easy.  In fact, sometimes it sucks.  Of the many things I no longer have time for, or energy for, the most urgent is the time to exercise.  Some would say I am lucky, I am not fat, I still wear my regular size clothing, but I would argue all three of those statements.  I’m not lucky, I may not be fat but I am extremely soft and jiggly, and while I do fit in my regular size clothing, my body feels very different and so do the clothes.

I am not one of those mothers who desperately wants to be thin or look like I did before I became a mom.  I am one of those people who believes in fitness and healthful eating.  I believe that if you welcome exercise and good food into your life, the rest will follow: mindfulness, sleep, organization, all that.

Over the next several months, Monkey came down with one ear infection after another. And work was busy.  And I was having my house “renovated.”  And Girlfriend was very involved at school, with Brownies, with projects, etc.  And then I wanted to spring clean my yard.  And birthdays came up.  And … and … and … and.

Well, the house renovations are over.  The ear infections seem to be over (for now). Monkey is sleeping a lot better.  Birthdays are over (for this year).  School is over both for Girlfriend and me.  My yard never got the attention it needed (and still needs) but I’ve let that go for the most part.

I need to do something.  I need to move.  I need to breathe.  I need to walk.

walking

I started walking when I was in the 7th grade.  I went with my mom.  She also loves to walk. And for years and years, I always went back to The Walk.  It is one of the best forms of exercise you can do for yourself.  It’s easy, it’s cheap, it’s convenient, and it works.  You will get into shape, you will lose weight, you will feel good, you will increase your energy, and you will have something for yourself to look forward to.  You can take this routine with you wherever you go.  All you need is a good pair of sneakers.

So today is Day 1.  I got up at 5:30.  I had my cup of coffee and I read some of my book.  At 6:22, I bookmarked my page, rinsed my coffee mug, changed out of my pajamas, whispered goodbye to my sleeping husband, tied my laces at the door, and off I went.

I am going to do this.  I am going to lose a little bit of weight.  I am going to gain some muscle.  I am going to commit.  I am going to do this for myself, for my family.  And when I look in the mirror, I am going to say, “I did this … I am responsible for this … this is me and I am proud.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

