Swimming

It’s summer.  Ahhhhh.  The long-awaited bliss.  It’s got me thinking about my favorite summer activity:  swimming!

There is freedom in being able to swim.  It’s something I’ve always been able to do and something I’ve always loved to do.  My sister and I were very fortunate to grow up with a pool in our backyard.  It was an in-ground pool, with a shallow end and deep end, a diving board, and eventually a slide.  We loved it.  Our parents had us in there swimming constantly. Our dog even joined us from time to time!

In addition to the backyard pool, we were at the lake and beach often. There is nothing like swimming in fresh water or riding the salty waves.

Swimming just feels good!

When Girlfriend was really little, she wasn’t crazy about the water and that made me sad, because I loved it so much.  Husband and I tried early and often to get her in the water: pools, lakes, oceans, splash pads, her own little pool with a seat.  Nothing worked.  She just wasn’t a fan.  Eventually, she found her fins and the rest is history.  Recently we were at my mother’s and spent most of our time in the pool!

14

Today, we spent the day with my sister at a water park up North.  Girlfriend had never been on water slides, and my sister and I hadn’t since we were teenagers.  We had a blast!  That feeling of no control but confident that you are safe, as you fly down a watery hill that twists and turns without warning, finally landing with a massive SPLASH into the waiting pool at the end – it’s heaven!  The wave pool held just enough people to feel fun and laugh together at random things, but not so many that I wanted to scream, “STOP TOUCHING ME”  We were all having fun, floating, bobbing, swimming.  Girlfriend loved the Lazy River, which we ambled along till we were ready for slides again.

7.JPG

Late in June, we brought a friend of Girlfriend’s to one of our favorite lakes up north. I couldn’t get the girls out of the water!  They almost chose to swim extra instead of leave to get ice cream on the way home!

summer10

Husband and I are able to provide a pool in our own backyard for  our children (and us!) to enjoy through this hot season.  Without fail, Girlfriend is in it just about every single day.

gorgeous3

Earlier in the week, we decided to visit the town beach with Monkey.

I’m pretty sure I was supposed to be a mermaid.

 

3 thoughts on “Swimming

  1. Lisa Orchard says:

    I love this post. I love summer, too. By chance are you in Michigan? You used the term “Up North.” We go “Up North” all the time here in the Mitten State. It’d be funny if I met another Michigander through Slice of Life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

