The Beach.

salisbury beach

We’re not really beach people. We’re more lake people, as you know from our recent family vacation.

However, now that I see that in writing … I have to wonder, We aren’t really beach people? Says who? Since when? What? Who is this, please?

I grew up swimming in pool water, lake water, AND ocean water. Some of my best childhood memories took place on the beach … the actual beach!

I LOVE the beach! I love the way it smells, I love the way it sounds, I love the sand in my toes and in my hair and in my bathing suit (though I could do without the itchy bottom, thank you very much). I love the occasional (but always accidental) swallow of salt water as a huge wave hits unexpectedly. I love the cries of the gulls overhead. I will never tire of the ocean’s lullaby that has not once failed to send me adrift into peaceful dreams.

Girlfriend loves the beach. LOVES IT. And Monkey loves the beach. LOVES IT.

Husband doesn’t love the beach. He also grew up going to the beach, staying at the beach, camping at the beach. But it’s just not his favorite place. Something about sand in his food. So we don’t go often. We go to the lake more. A lot more. You compromise in a family. This isn’t to say he never goes. He does. It’s just not the best time for him. I get it.

Today, we drove down to the beach to visit my niece, her husband, and their kids. My sister-in-law was there as well. We had one of the best days ever. The sun was out, it was hot, there was a breeze, the tide was low, the cousins were together, there were plenty of adults for us to trade kid-watching responsibilities, and the water was amazing.

I can’t remember the last time I swam in the ocean.

I know I have never ridden the waves with Girlfriend. She’s never actually gone in beyond her knees. But she did today.

And watching Monkey (one of my favorite things to do … just watching him) … he was in his glory.

My niece’s daughter is the sweetest thing.

And her son was thrilled that his cousin (Girlfriend) was there hangin’ out with him.

I got to spend time with my niece, and my sister-in-law. We talked and laughed and just had the best time.

We are beach people, after all.

This day may be over, but I’ve already etched it deep into my memory. 

slice-of-life2

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Beach.

Leave a Reply

