What I Want in 2017

a-year-go

I’m not much of a New Year’s Resolutions type of girl. Never really have been. I figure, if you want to make a change, the time is now.

But things happen.

We get older. Life gets … more. More busy. More difficult. More complicated. More. Just more.

When you’re faced with more, and more, and more, suddenly setting a goal for change in the new year becomes … attractive.

As I’ve written about previously, I lost who I thought was a really good friend in 2015. I had the horrid experience of a student dying in 2013. I became a mother again in 2015 to a child who is, in every aspect of the word, a healing gift from Above. I’ve done a lot of growing in the last year, and I’ve come to believe that nothing, absolutely nothing, in life occurs accidentally.

I am who I am. I am a fierce thinker. I get anxious. I get upset. I make bad decisions, ones that I look back at later and wonder what the hell.

I go through dark spaces. Ohhhhh how I hate those dark spaces.

I don’t feel like a normal person a lot of the time. I’m so sensitive. And no one talks about sensitivity. So it’s something I handle on my own.

I question everything. I question myself, I question others, I question Life.

So in 2017 here’s what I want.

I want acceptance. I will accept myself. I will accept others.

I want tolerance. I will be tolerant. I will hold others to a standard of tolerance.

I want understanding. I will be understanding. I expect understanding.

I want to be committed to me. I will care about ME. I will take care of ME. Whether this means making myself look pretty one day, sleeping an extra hour the next day, making sure that I get to the studio on the appointed days, or … I will do it.

I want truth. I will speak the truth. I will listen to the truth. I will see the truth. Even when it’s hard. Especially when it’s hard.

And I want to write. I want to write when it’s easy, when it’s hard, when it’s boring, when it’s not. I just want to write.

The reality is, 2017 is upon us. It’s coming whether I’m ready or not. Maybe the question should be, is 2017 ready for me?

2017

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What I Want in 2017

Leave a Reply

